About Mohawk Valley Community Action Agency (MVCAA) | MVCAA Skip to main content

Mohawk Valley Community Action Agency

Helping People. Changing Lives. Ending Poverty.


Mohawk Valley Community Action is the frontline resource for people living in poverty in Oneida and Herkimer Counties, providing direct services and support for education, employment and family support services. For anyone living in the Mohawk Valley, whether they were raised in poverty, or they suddenly find themselves there due to unemployment, disability or a change in household; Mohawk Valley Community Action should be considered their FIRST STEP when seeking assistance.  By helping people in poverty follow a clear path to improvement, Mohawk Valley Community Action provides new hope for a better tomorrow for those in our community who need it the most.   

For 50 years, Mohawk Valley Community Action has served as the hub connecting local people living in poverty with Child Care and Development, Food Stamps and WIC; Housing Assistance, Senior Services, Weatherization, Foster Grandparents and Youth Services.  Moreover, the agency helps community members living in poverty see a clear path to bettering their situation.  Once this vision has been realized, a new sense of hope is naturally instilled.  The feeling of hope starts small, but grows as the client realizes that they truly have a partner in the community to help them navigate all the services available to them.   

For the 2015 Annual Report, please follow this link.


MVCAA, Inc. is dedicated to empowering individuals, families and the communities of Herkimer and Oneida Counties in Central New York and is recognized as a viable, working solution to moving people out of poverty.



2015-2016 MVCAA
Board of Directors


Donna Gillette

Marie Kohl

Mary Kline

Chris Pazik

Christina Connor

Mary Brown-DePass

Paula Flisnik

James Hamer

Dawn Laguerre

David Mathis

Diane McTiernan

Carol Medley

Cheryl Minor

Ruth Morgan

Stephen Reeves

Kathleen Rinaldo

Murray Saxton

Cheryl Shusdock

Debbie Smith

Carole Torok-Huxtable

Peter Zawko

Amy Turner
Executive Director

Camille Kahler,
Consulting Attorney



2015-2016 MVCAA Policy Council
Members & Representatives


Christina Connor

Carey Bliss

Nancy Burton

Angalina Aniek

Kayla Bersani

Asha Bonavita

Jerilee Brue

Ava Cisson

Elizabeth Lubey

Deana Small

Jessica Southwick

Susanne Swartout

Jeannie Vazquez

Erika Warner

Megan Whitney

Nancy Koury
Community Rep

Mike Nobis
Community Rep

Meagan Stukey
Community Rep


9882 River Road, Utica, NY 13502 Phone: (315) 624-9930 DonateDonate