Renee Tuggle, CCAP | MVCAA Skip to main content

Mohawk Valley Community Action Agency

Helping People. Changing Lives. Ending Poverty.


Mohawk Valley Community Action is the frontline resource for people living in poverty in Oneida and Herkimer Counties, providing direct services and support for education, employment and family support services. We also offer our HeadStart programming in Madison County. For anyone living in the Mohawk Valley, whether they were raised in poverty, or they suddenly find themselves there due to unemployment, disability or a change in household, Mohawk Valley Community Action should be considered their FIRST STEP when seeking assistance.  By helping people in poverty follow a clear path to improvement, Mohawk Valley Community Action provides hope for a better tomorrow for those in our community who need it the most.   

For over 50 years, Mohawk Valley Community Action has served as the hub connecting local people living in poverty with Early Head Start, Head Start, and Universal Pre-K , utility assistance, tax preparation; Housing Assistance, Senior Services, Weatherization, Foster Grandparents and Youth Services.  Moreover, MVCAA helps community members living in poverty see a clear path to bettering their situation.  Once this vision has been realized, a new sense of hope is naturally instilled.  The feeling of hope starts small, but grows as the client realizes that they truly have a partner in the community to help them navigate all the services available to them.   

For the 2018 Annual Report, please follow this link.


MVCAA, Inc. is dedicated to empowering individuals, families and the communities of Herkimer and Oneida Counties in Central New York and is recognized as a viable, working solution to moving people out of poverty.

Renee Tuggle, CCAP

Renee Tuggle, CCAP image

Executive Assistant

Back to list

2019-2020 MVCAA Policy Council
Members & Representatives


Naybel Castellano 

Ann Catlin

Tracy Davenport

Jessica Graham

Christina Hajdasz

Chris Hallberg

Makayla Hyde

Kara Jury

Nathan Keener

Mary Merry

Abigail Miller

Heather Miner

Caitlynn Reisel

Karla Sabino

Irina Tur

Doris Wilkins-Wilt

Chris Wimmer

Board of Directors Representative:  Stephen Reeves



9882 River Road, Utica, NY 13502 Phone: (315) 624-9930 DonateDonate