Gala 2018 | MVCAA Skip to main content
Annual Community Champions Gala

We invite you to join in the celebration as MVCAA’s Board of Directors hosts its 52nd Anniversary Gala, Friday, May 4th, 6-10 pm at Hart’s Hill Inn, Whitesboro.  Join us in supporting and celebrating our 2018 Community Champions.  Each year since 2005 MVCAA has honored those individuals, organizations and businesses in our community who are working to help move families out of poverty by creating, sustaining or advocating for opportunities for low-income families.   The Community Champions Awards celebrate these accomplishments and allows us to thank them for all of their hard work.  


May 4th 6-10pm at Hart's Hill Inn


Individual $75

NEW Couples $130

Cocktails and Hors d'oeuvres at 6pm

Award Ceremony at 7pm

Dinner and Dancing 8-10pm



Community Champion Awards

Treva Wood Community ActivistPresented to an individual who has dedicated themselves to fight for the empowerment of the low-income members of our community.  This individual works tirelessly for the rights and the opportunities for success of each individual.

2018 Recipient: Mr. Steve Darman

Past Winners

John Furman ~ Rev. Maritza Perez ~ Catherine Bullwinkle ~ Lucille Soldato ~ Rev. Dr. Maria Scates ~ Jawwaad Rasheed ~ Ray Lenarcic ~ Dr. Charles Burns, DDS ~ Matt Miller ~ Harry Bilton ~ Rose White ~ Warren Molo ~ Herbert Thorpe

Community Builder - This award is given to a business or group that has contributed unselfishly to the betterment of our community.  This business/group is involved in the local community and committed to making a difference.

2018 Recipient: St. John The Evangelist Church, Fr. Kevin Bunger & Mr. Dick Vetere

Past Winners

UPD:  Adopt a Police Officer Program ~ Timothy Seymour ~ Delores Caruso ~ Thomas Revels ~ Mohawk Valley EDGE ~ Dennis Surace ~ Stephen Zogby ~ NYS Troop D Zone 1 ~ Kathleen Rinaldo ~ Craig Grant ~ Laura Vieira-Suarez ~ Community Foundation of Herkimer & Oneida Counties

Community Visionary - This award is given to an individual who has contributed unselfishly to the betterment of our community as a whole, and works toward the goal of ending poverty in our community.

2018 Recipients: Ms. Alicia Mroz and Mrs. Teoka Muhammad

Past Winners

Assemblyman Anthony Brindisi ~ Alice J. Savino ~ The Hon. Anthony Picente ~ Rocco Arcuri ~ Dr. Randall VanWagoner ~ Craig Minor ~ RoAnn Destito ~ Rev. Philip Hearn ~ Jacquiline Schmidt ~ Rev. Bruce Webster

Community Achiever Award - Presented to a family or individual who has overcome poverty to become an active member of the community.  This family/individual has met their challenges with confidence, sought guidance and support, and is now actively creating a better life for their family and giving back to their community.

2018 Recipient: Ms. Sefija Kajtezovic

Past Winners

Wah Wah Moses



9882 River Road, Utica, NY 13502 Phone: (315) 624-9930 DonateDonate